top of page

Trip to Kyoto and Osaka

This weekend, I took a quick trip to Kyoto and Osaka for some sightseeing! In Kyoto, I stayed at an onsen hotel where I was able to relax and enjoy the public baths. The weather was quite gloomy while I was there, however I was able to see Kiyomizu-dera, a famous temple, as well as Nishiki market, Arashiyama bamboo forrest, and several other small temples and shrines around Arashiyama and Higashiyama wards! I had been to visit each of these places in the past when I came to Kyoto with my family, so it was nice to return for the first time since the Covid-pandemic. I particularly enjoyed Kiyomizu-dera this trip because the rainy weather made the temple gardens and greenery extremely beautiful!

After leaving Kyoto, I made a quick stop in Osaka to check out the famous Dotonbori area for food and window shopping. Before getting on the shinkansen back to Tokyo, I was also able to indulge in some eki bento! Eki bento are special bento that they sell in train stations specifically for long train trips and they are definitely one of my favorite parts of longer-distance train travel in Japan. Overall, this trip was quick but very fulfilling and nostalgic. For those looking to or planning to travel to Kyoto or Osaka in the near future, I highly recommend a stop at any of the locations mentioned above!


bottom of page