top of page

Waseda Rivalry Baseball Game

I had the opportunity to attend a baseball game between my host university, Waseda University, and its rival school, Keio University. The game ended up being super exciting as Waseda made a comeback from a losing score in the first several innings to winning the game with a 3-point lead! It was a very interesting experience seeing the unique ceremonies and cheering habits of collegiate sports here in Japan as well. Throughout the entire game, the cheerleaders and pep-squad were leading the student section in various different chants, songs, and rally cries that were so lively they almost distracted from the game! There were several sportsmanship demonstrations as well, and the flag bearers and cheer squads for both teams often showed respect and support of the other side which was something I am not used to seeing with American collegiate sports team rivals. Overall, the game was very exciting and I feel encouraged to attend more sports events during my time here and upon my return to UHM in the Fall!


bottom of page